TL;DR
Get kitchen staples and gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The Food and Agriculture Organization is accepting grant applications through Nov. 9 from eligible organizations in parts of western Kenya’s Mt. Elgon region. This week’s coffee-industry developments also include U.S. launches from Keurig and De’Longhi, a proposed Indonesian coffee-business acquisition, and café and competition updates.
The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations is accepting grant applications through Nov. 9 for nature-based enterprises in designated areas of western Kenya, while Keurig and De’Longhi have introduced home coffee brewers in the United States. The developments lead this week’s coffee-industry roundup, which also includes a proposed Indonesian coffee-business acquisition, a new Hawaii competition auction and updates from cafés and coffee brands.
The FAO opportunity is aimed at registered producer organizations, cooperatives and community organizations operating in designated areas of Bungoma and Trans Nzoia counties, in the Mt. Elgon region. The report gives the closing date as Nov. 9 but does not specify grant amounts, the number of awards or the full application requirements.
Keurig has launched its Alta brewing system in the U.S. at a listed price of $499. The brewer uses pressed coffee portions called AltaRounds, which Keurig says have a plant-based coating and contain no plastic or aluminum. The company first previewed the device in 2024. De’Longhi has introduced a redesigned All-in-One Combination Coffee & Espresso Machine for $349.95 in the U.S. The company says it takes up 20% less counter space than its predecessor and includes a retractable cold frother.
Other business news includes Florida-based Rapide Group’s stated plan to acquire a 70% stake in an unnamed Indonesian robusta sourcing, processing and trading business. Rapide said it signed a letter of intent for a deal valued at $1.5 million in restricted shares. Its account says the business operates two sites in Bandar Lampung and recorded about $9.6 million in sales from January through September 2026. A website identified as belonging to the proposed merger candidate said its name and profile were being withheld as of Oct. 29. The reported deal remains a proposal, not a confirmed completed acquisition.
Grants and New Brewers Shape the Week
The Kenyan grant call creates a time-limited funding opportunity for organizations working in the specified Mt. Elgon areas. For eligible groups, the immediate practical issue is the Nov. 9 deadline; the source report does not provide enough information to judge award size or the kinds of costs that may qualify.
The brewer launches show two manufacturers competing for home-coffee buyers with different product approaches and price points. Keurig is presenting a new format built around pressed, coated coffee portions, while De’Longhi is updating an all-in-one coffee and espresso machine. Their launch prices are confirmed in the report, but claims about materials and reduced counter space come from the companies and have not been independently tested there.
The other items give readers a snapshot of activity across coffee production, retail and branding. The proposed Indonesian transaction could add a sourcing and processing business to Rapide’s holdings if completed. Meanwhile, the Hawaii competition’s planned auction and the Raleigh café operator’s Chapter 11 filing affect specific participants and businesses, rather than indicating a broader industry trend on their own.
Popular right now

Breville Bambino Espresso Machine, Brushed Stainless Steel (BES450BSS)

Ninja CREAMi Scoop & Swirl 13-in-1 Ice Cream and Soft Serve Maker, NC701

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From Mt. Elgon to U.S. Cafés
The weekly roundup, published by Daily Coffee News by Roast Magazine on Oct. 30, 2026, combines developments from several parts of the coffee sector. The grant call focuses on nature-based enterprises in western Kenya; the product news concerns consumer equipment in the United States. The items are separate developments, not parts of a single program or partnership.
In competition news, China’s Pan Wei won the 2026 World Barista Championship on Oct. 25 at the Panama Convention Center during World of Coffee Panama, according to the report. The Specialty Coffee Association recognized him as the 26th World Barista Champion. Shing Win of Malaysia placed second and Frederick Ruben of the United Arab Emirates placed third.
The Hawaii Coffee Association is seeking judges for its 2027 Best of Hawai‘i Coffee Competition. Pre-selection judging is scheduled for March 5–8 in Kona, with final judging set for March 15–17. The association says the program will include its first auction of selected top-performing lots. Separately, Boston-based Pavement Coffeehouse opened its 10th café at Tufts University’s Joyce Cummings Center in Medford. The company began in 2010 and brought roasting in-house in 2018, according to the report.
In Raleigh, The Optimist said it would continue normal operations after operating company ABC Raw LLC filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy. The business lists two coffee shops. The roundup cites a Triangle Business Journal report that the company owes about $742,000 in unpaid taxes; The Optimist said on Instagram that employees would continue to be paid and food and coffee service would continue.
“AltaRounds contain no plastic or aluminum.”
— Keurig
Grant Terms and Deal Status
The source does not give the FAO grants’ funding amounts, award count, selection criteria or application instructions. Applicants should consult the FAO’s official notice for eligibility details and submission requirements rather than rely on the roundup alone.
Rapide’s proposed purchase is described as a letter of intent. The target’s identity and profile were being withheld as of Oct. 29, and the report does not establish that a final agreement has been signed or that the transaction has closed. The business’s sales figure is attributed to Rapide’s account.
For the new brewers, the report supplies launch prices and manufacturer descriptions, but not independent product testing, detailed specifications or user feedback. The Optimist says it plans to keep operating, but the report does not detail the bankruptcy case’s future schedule, creditors’ response or the outcome. Those details may change as proceedings continue.
Deadlines and Launch Follow-Up
The nearest stated milestone is the Nov. 9 deadline for the FAO grant applications. Eligible organizations in the designated parts of Bungoma and Trans Nzoia will need to confirm requirements and submit materials by that date. Rapide’s letter of intent may lead to further disclosures about the unnamed Indonesian business or a final transaction, but no closing date is given.
For competition participants, judge applications and preparations precede the Hawaii Coffee Association’s March 2027 judging dates. Keurig’s Alta and De’Longhi’s redesigned machine are available at the listed U.S. prices, according to the roundup; further detail on availability, specifications and independent assessments may emerge after launch. The Optimist says its cafés will remain open while its Chapter 11 case proceeds, though the report gives no court milestones.
Key Questions
Who can apply for the FAO grants in western Kenya?
The report says eligible applicants include registered producer organizations, cooperatives and community organizations operating in designated areas of Bungoma and Trans Nzoia counties in the Mt. Elgon region. It does not list the full eligibility rules.
When are the FAO grant applications due?
Applications are being accepted through Nov. 9, 2026, according to the Oct. 30 roundup. The source does not provide grant amounts or detailed application instructions.
What are the new Keurig and De’Longhi brewers, and what do they cost?
Keurig’s Alta brewing system is listed at $499 in the U.S. and uses AltaRounds. De’Longhi’s redesigned All-in-One Combination Coffee & Espresso Machine is listed at $349.95. The reported product features are based on company descriptions.
Has Rapide completed its Indonesian coffee-business acquisition?
No completed acquisition is established in the report. Rapide said it signed a letter of intent to acquire a 70% stake for $1.5 million in restricted shares. The target’s identity was being withheld as of Oct. 29.
Will The Optimist’s Raleigh cafés remain open?
The Optimist said it would continue operating normally after its operating company filed for Chapter 11, with staff still paid and coffee and food service continuing. The bankruptcy case’s outcome and future schedule are not specified.
Source: dailycoffeenews.com
